The Lady Speaks

The Promised Land

And then I got into Memphis. And some began to say the threats, or talk about the threats that were out. What would happen to me from some of our sick white brothers?

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop.

— Martin Luther King, Jr.

This speech was delivered the night before his assassination. The power of it was, and remains, incredible. Each time I’ve heard it, I feel a thrill in my heart – and a terrible chill down my spine. As others have wondered, I too wonder if he didn’t know or have some inkling of what was to come.

Perhaps he knew – not that he would die very soon – but that his power, the power of his words and his actions, the power and strength of the movement as a whole, was becoming too great for those who opposed equality, and so – eventually – they would find a way and he was reconciled to that.

Perhaps he was simply at peace with death, because death could not hurt him; it could only unite him with the Lord he served.

And so I’m happy, tonight.
I’m not worried about anything.
I’m not fearing any man!
Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!!

 

January 21, 2008 - Posted by | America, Equality, Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, World Peace

4 Comments »

  1. Hiyya Pa Lady, i just dropped in to say howdy and let you know i got new digs !!! now at wordpress , yes i am thrilled. Its good for my brain to learn a new module and so on. sooooo if you want to change my linkie, that would be dandy. MLK day is one of my top two favorite days of the entire yr for multiple reasons. Take care ! And yeah we shall overcome. Like the template here.

    – proud progressive

    Comment by proudprogressive | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yay proud!!! I haven’t been online in a while (life is kind of taking over right now.) but I’ll change the linkie right away!

    Best wishes on the new site!

    Comment by PA_Lady | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thank you for reminding us of the calm courage that rightness brings. Nice post.

    Comment by Thersites D. Scott | February 12, 2008 | Reply

  4. April 4, 2008 Today is the anniversary of his death.
    We are closer to the dream.
    His dream was for everyone, of every nation, creed, and color, and gender.
    So, it is exciting to see a Woman and a Black Man as serious contenders for President of the United States.
    This will be an historic year.
    Now, we must just do the right thing…
    Then together we can make this nation one truly, one nation under God.

    Comment by Mom | April 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

