The Lady Speaks

Sept 11th

When asked if they were surprised [not the right word, but I can’t find the story] that it’s been ten years since their mother’s death, Prince William responded that, for he and his brother, their response is more like, “Has it only been ten years?”

They live with it every single minute of every single day, and the sense of loss is so strong that the time since their mother’s death has been unending.

And so it is with September 11th.

In some mystic and jumbled way that only Einstein could explain, September 11th, 2001 happened just moments ago and yet happened 100 years ago.

The moment is still fresh and clear, the horror, the fear, the sorrow. And yet, time has passed.

*

2974 people from 90 countries, from across the spectrum of humanity.

Black, white, yellow, red.

Gay, straight.

Married, single.

Democrats, Republicans, Independents.

Citizens, illegals.

Rich, poor.

Christians, Jews, Muslims, atheists.

*

From Feb, 3, 2002, U2 at Super Bowl XXXVI:

September 11, 2007 - Posted by | 9-11, America

4 Comments »

  1. A moment (and yet a lifetime) frozen, unforgettable, unbelievable, and yet true.
    Ask any American of school age and up…They can tell you exactly where they were, who they were with, and what they were doing on 9/11
    Sad, sad, anniversary.

    Comment by mom | September 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Like you, I remember this day as it happened six years ago. It was two hours ago…last week…last year. Twenty years from now it’ll have that same timless feel. Tragedies often do.

    9/11/01

    As I entered the fourth hour of being glued to my TV, I was desperate to find something redeeming rise from the ashes of the WTC, the Pentagon and in that field in rural Pennsylvannia.

    I believe I saw the Phoenix…for a little while, anyway. I wanted to see it. I guess I “needed” to see it. Emotional salve for my emotional wounds.

    It should come as no surpirse that the scar healed rough.

    I wrote about it in my blog , too.

    I’ll never forget the significance of Septemeber 11th.

    Then again, I can’t even look at “November 22nd” on the calender without thinking about a young, idealistic president, his lovely First Lady who reigned supreme over an easier, more innocent time and the cold, windy day in Dallas that seemed to stop time, progress and life as we knew it.

    LK
    lauriekendrick.wordpress.com

    Comment by lauriekendrick | September 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Yes, that cold day in Dallas.
    I was 13, and when we heard the news, everyone just stood for hours in front of the television, watching Walter Cronkite.
    We never even thought to sit down…a roomful of people, just standing in shock, and grief. I am now 57, and it seems that is was only yesterday….
    For our generation there would be many more tragedies..
    Bobby Kennedy, Martin Luther King, resound in our memories. Wasn’t it only yesterday?
    My parents spoke of Pearl Harbor in much the same way.
    These stellar, tragic times. From which we learn so little, and suffer so very much.
    9/11…led to the wrong war, against the wrong enemies.
    What next?

    Comment by mom | September 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. Laurie: Thanks for stopping by. Your post about “that day” is so moving. I remember my sister and I deciding to walk to our mother’s to see what was happening. (I didn’t have cable at that time.) I was sure my imagination was in overdrive, and that actually seeing it, I would realize it wasn’t as horrible as I was imagining from the reports and interviews on NPR and other stations.

    Indeed it wasn’t. It was worse.

    Mom: The closest my generation could come to the power of the Kennedys’ or MLK’s assassinations — in terms of everyone remembering exactly where they were and what they were doing — was the Challenger explosion, 3 days before my 17th birthday.

    This year someone said, “I can’t believe it’s been 21 years.” And I had the twin thoughts, “Is that all?” and, “That long?”

    Comment by PA_Lady | September 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

