The Lady Speaks

Saturday Potluck

UPDATE – 8/15/07:

I didn’t know it at the time, but this was my 500th post! How cool!

– – –

Yep, the name’s definitely grown on me. I guess I’ll keep it. Here’s this week’s round-up of newly-discovered, interesting blogs – with quotes from each:

Dying Man’s Daily Journal

I am a 54 year old male and my doctors have told me I am dying. It is my hope that by sharing my experiences, I can encourage others faced with the same situation. I hope to also help the families of those individuals to have an understanding of the process and deal with the fear or dread of being around the dying. I am not a doctor, not a man of the clergy, I am not a therapist. I am just me, Bill Howdle, I am merely sharing my thoughts and ideas. I write of death and dying, understand this is my personal prospective, based on what I am encountering.

Rebels Are We

My only question after reading this is, why aren’t bridges falling down all over Massachusetts?

Like A Spaniard Learn colloquial Spanish

Many Spanish idioms have an identical counterpart in English. Here are two:

“Estar en el septimo cielo” means “To be in seventh heaven”

“Mover cielo y tierra” translates to “To move heaven and earth”

Let’s Play Math

Can your students solve this problem?

There are 20% more girls than boys in the senior class. What percent of the seniors are girls?

This is from a discussion of the semantics of percent problems and why students have trouble with them, going on over at MathNotations. (Follow-up post here.) Our pre-algebra class just finished a chapter on percents, so I thought Chickenfoot might have a chance at this one. Nope! He leapt without thought to the conclusion that 60% of the class must be girls. After I explained the significance of the word “than”, he solved the follow-up problem just fine.

And, for those who either have the world’s worst boss or want to be stunned by just how rotten some bosses can be, check out the My Bad Boss Contest at WorkingAmerica.org

August 11, 2007 - Posted by | Blogs, Just For Fun

8 Comments »

  1. PA, I love these links!!! You and I must share a brain. What interests you always interests me too.

    Comment by mirth | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks! I loved your Community Speak posts, and I’ve been having such fun exploring all the different blogs out there. It’s the 21st-century version of my favorite (and now prohibitively expensive) off-time activity as a teenager: driving around backroads and trying to get lost, just so I could find my way home again.

    There’s so many great writers, on so many different topics, and I’ll be lucky to find even 1/1000th of them.

    Comment by PA_Lady | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Well there you go! I like to drive backroads too, altho I’m such a perfectionist that I’ll have a map open and folded to show me exactly where I am.
    *smile*

    Comment by mirth | August 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. LOL! I never take a map. It’s so much more fun to wander – half-lost, asking, “Where the hell does this road end?!” and then having to stop at the only house for miles, on some dirt road, to ask, “Where am I, and how the heck do I get home?”

    My favorite trip was when my sister and I took a 2-hour trip and ended up near our aunt’s house – 80 miles and the complete opposite direction from where we were (sort of) heading.

    Comment by PA_Lady | August 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thank you for the link. The Saturday Potluck is a good idea—I may have to borrow it from you. What fun to discover new blogs!

    Comment by Denise | August 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. Denise: You’re welcome! Your explanation of finding the answer to percents problems like the one above was so good that I was thinking, “Oh! So that’s how you do it!” They’ve challenged me since 4th grade.

    Feel free to borrow it! I’d take credit for the idea, but it belongs to Mirth.

    Comment by PA_Lady | August 13, 2007 | Reply

  7. I feel honored that you would chose to mention my blog on your list. I do thank you. 500 posts that is an admirable accomplishment. I enjoyed my visit here and will be returning. I even left the math site a question, that I hope they can help me understand.
    Thank you
    Bill

    Comment by Bill Howdle | August 20, 2007 | Reply

  8. Bill: Thanks so much for stopping by!

    Comment by PA_Lady | August 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

