The Lady Speaks

Friday Anti-War Song

I haven’t done one of these in a while, but I haven’t exactly forgotten – just busy on Fridays.

I love the Dropkick Murphys and while looking for the lyrics to another song, I came across this, from Wikipedia:

The song “Last Letter Home”, contains excerpts from personal letters between Sgt. Andrew Farrar, his mother and his wife. The following is taken from the album notes:

We had already finished this song that was based on general correspondences to & from the soldiers serving in Iraq, when we were contacted by the family of Sgt. Andrew Farrar who had recently died while serving there. The family wanted to tell us he was a big supporter of the Dropkick Murphys. They also passed on a letter that he had written to his mother shortly before his death in which he thanks her for sending him a Dropkick Murphys CD & said that if anything should happen to him while in Iraq, he would like one of our songs played at his funeral. He also left behind a wife, Melissa and two young boys Tyler & Liam. His tour of duty in Iraq was coming to an end & he was due to come home & renew his wedding vows with Melissa to another song of ours, “Forever”. Sgt Farrar died on January 28th, on his 31st birthday. We were present at his funeral to grant his wish and played “Fields of Athenry” as his casket entered the church. This song was re-written to include excerpts from that letter.

So that’s how I came to pick today’s song.

LAST LETTER HOME
–Dropkick Murphys

Hello there my dearest love
Today I write to you about our sons
The boys start school today
They’re the spitting image of you in every way

Hey son it’s Dad
I hope this letter finds you well out of harm’s way
We saw the news today it frightened your Mom
Now all she does is pray

If I lead will you follow?
Will you follow if I lead?

Hey Melissa it’s me don’t be afraid
I’m in good hands I’m gonna be home soon
It’s time to watch the children grow up
I wanna be more than a voice on the phone

Thanks Ma I got your package today
I love “The Fields Of Athenry”
I swear I want ’em to play that song on the pipes
At my funeral when I die

If I lead will you follow?
Will you follow if I lead?

I stand alone in the distance
And the foreground slowly moves

If I lead will you follow?
Will you follow if I lead?

“We regret to inform you that on January 28th Sgt. Andrew
Farrar died while serving his country in the Al-Anbar province
of Iraq. Words cannot convey our sorrow”

If I lead will you follow?
Will you follow if I lead?

When there’s nothing on the horizon
You’ve got nothing left to prove

If I lead will you follow?

*

UPDATE: 5/4/07, 10:53p

This link was sent to me by email from a reader (h/t Antony) and I wanted to include it here.

From the Boston Herald, 8/18/05:

[…] Nate Farrar wrote an email to Dropkick Murphys Web site to talk about his brother’s love for the band. Within minutes he got a response from bassist Ken Casey: “Call me.”

Nate Farrar did. And on the cold day Farrar’s body was carried up the steps into St. Frances Xavier Church in Weymouth, Dropkick Murphys was outside.
Dropkick Murphys spent the night before the funeral in the studio, recording a version of the ballad especially for Andrew Farrar. There were only three CDs cut.

Casey tucked one under the slain Marine’s arm before he was buried. Another was handed to his wife, and the third to his parents, Andrew Sr. and Claire.

“This is Andrew’s song. We did it for him,” Casey told them, promising it would not be released. The band had already written a song about letters from soldiers in Iraq to their families. But now that song, “Last Letter Home,” is about Andrew Farrar, the lyrics his own words.

[snip]

The family has since given the band permission to break their promise and release Andrew’s song to raise money for a memorial fund in his honor.

May 4, 2007 - Posted by | America, Music, Protest, War, World Peace

3 Comments »

  1. This post has made me weep.
    I can still feel the sorrow that is Iraq! It’s as real as the first day of it. I haven’t grieved for so long that the pain has become less. I can still feel.

    Comment by mirth | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. mirth: I was in tears reading it on Wiki, and just had to share it with those who may not listen to the DMs.

    I’m grateful that I, too, can still feel, still weep for our soldiers and their families and for the Iraqis and their families. I am not numb yet, and I continue the fight to end this war because I can still feel.

    Comment by PA_Lady | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. Jenn, thank you for this post. From the bottom of my heart I mean that. I was so caught up in the emotion of it that I wasn’t even sure what I was writing above, but I knew you would understand what I meant. And if we, in our mostly comfortable lives, can feel this rawness, imagine what is in the hearts and minds of those who belong to these dead soldiers and, especially, the Iraqis who are living the nightmare brought to them by the United States.
    Goddamn this filthy lying thieving murderous greedy bastard government!

    Comment by mirth | May 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

