The Lady Speaks

Jenn’s Sunday Sermon – Flower Show Edition

No real sermon today. I think I’ve got an ear infection – or else a small animal has moved into my ear and is busy chewing and clawing the hell out of my ear drum – and I know I’ve got a sinus infection, and I just feel all-around crappy today.

Here’s the message of today’s sermon: Flowers are pretty.

Roses from someone you love? $89.99 on V-Day. Planting your own garden? $200 and up in plants, soil, fertilizer, and hours of backbreaking labor, just to get three dandelions and a tulip.

Getting to leave town to see the Philadelphia Flower Show? Priceless.

Yes, I did! The Momma, the Beffie, NennyA, and I spent a wonderful day at the Philly Convention Center. There aren’t enough superlatives to describe it.

Update: Well, there should have been photos, BUT thanks to snapfish (whose name I will curse forever more) I can’t bring them over here. Instead, you’ll have to click on the link and go to the album. *sigh* Sorry.

If I feel better later, I’ll try to upload some to my other photo-hosting site so I can share them with y’all.

–Jenn

March 11, 2007 - Posted by | America, Family, Gardening, Pennsylvania, Sisters

3 Comments »

  1. Snapfish is good, but not as good as the business I represent. …

    [VERY LONG ANNOYING BUSINESS ADVERTISEMENT DELETED]

    … Thankyou. Daniel Bahnemann Email: yama@mybigplanet.com Website: yama.myphotomax.com

    Comment by Daniel Bahnemann | March 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Flower shows…..love them. When living in Chicago, I attended the Chicago Flower show and a business grew of it. I ended up arranging bromeliads (and airplants) on beautiful pieces of grapewood and sold them. I’ve been thinking of getting back into that business…… your post has made me think more about it! 🙂

    Comment by QuestionGirl | March 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. QG: I bought two airplants on grape wood for my sons. (The usual Flower show souveniers don’t exactly appeal to teenage boys for some reason.)

    They really liked them. After all, they’re the perfect plant, according to my 20yo: They want to be ignored except for a little water thrown their way every now and then.

    Comment by PA_Lady | March 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

