The Lady Speaks

Friday Anti-War Song

Truly, what other song would be as appropriate now with Bush’s announcement that, no, 3011+  dead and 25,000+  wounded Americans, and tens or hundreds of thousands of Iraqi lives aren’t enough – he intends to throw another 21,500 US soldiers at the mess in Iraq.

Maybe if their children were required to be the first ones on the front lines, our Presidents and CongressCritters will stop sending everyone else’s children into unnecessary wars.

Fortunate Son
— John Fogerty

Some folks are born
made to wave the flag,
Ooh, they’re red, white, and blue.
And when the band plays “Hail to the chief”,
they point the cannon right at you.

It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no senator’s son.
It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no fortunate one.

Some folks are born
silver spoon in hand,
Lord don’t they help themselves.
But when the tax man comes to the door,
Lord, the house looks like a rummage sale.

It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no millionaire’s son.
It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no fortunate one.

Some folks inherit
star spangled eyes,
Ooh, they send you down to war.
And when you ask them,
“How much should we give?”
They only answer “More! More! More!”

It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no military son.
It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no fortunate one.

 

It ain’t me,
it ain’t me.
I ain’t no Fortunate Son.

January 12, 2007 - Posted by | America, Bush, Cheney, Civil War, Congress, Government, Iraq, Middle East, Music, Pentagon, Politics, Protest, US Military, War, White House

5 Comments »

  1. I always preferred Kumbayah.

    Yes, that old, tried and true stress relieving mantra of a heavy heart, weary from the exhaustion of harping and whining at those with differing world views.

    Cindy Sheehan, after a hard day’s protesting the nazi regime in Washington, most certainly enjoys a few verses of this deeply meaningful ditty over some green tea just so fatigue doesn’t overwhelm her need to bash and criticize her country.

    Your suggestion was nice, but let’s not set aside the national anthem of weary America haters everywhere.

    Have a nice day.

    Comment by icanplainlysee | January 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. And thus we see the moron displayed in all its glory….

    Here’s some questions that I ponder every now and again, usually when I’m ignoring whatever junior high blather* my daughter’s talking about:

    What is the sound of one hand clapping?
    Why are there no intelligent right-wingers?
    If a tree falls in the forest…

    * * *

    *It sounds like this: “And then Monica told Darcy she couldn’t borrow her lipgloss, but Darcy had already taken it from her locker … and then Linda asked Bill to the dance, but Bill’s going with Katie and … Katie is the biggest slut in school … and then I go, “Well that’s not cool” and she goes, “Well I don’t care” and I go…” [names changed to protect the guilty]

    Comment by PA_Lady | January 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. I have never seen so much effort put into an attempt to ignore humor.

    Try laughing sometime.

    Wipes the bitterness and condescention right off you face.

    Comment by icanplainlysee | January 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. Humor?! That was humor?! 🙂

    Comment by PA_Lady | January 12, 2007 | Reply

  5. That was not humor…
    That was a straight out insult, and verbal attack, on Cindy Sheehan. She lost her son to an ill-gotten war,(waged for oil and G.W.’s glory,) and now she would like to prevent others that same pain. She want to know what blindly waving the flag, and saying take me gets people.
    I am old, and icanplainly see was not funny.
    Where does trying to be funny get you, when you have no sense of humor..ask John Kerry.
    You know Mel’s blather sounds like music to my ears, after reading that comment.

    Comment by Mom | January 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

