The Lady Speaks

Pray for Peace

African prayer:

Almighty God,
the Great Thumb we cannot evade to tie any knot;
the Roaring Thunder that splits mighty trees:
the all-seeing Lord up on high who sees
even the footprints of an antelope on a rock mass here on Earth.
You are the one who does not hesitate to respond to our call.
You are the cornerstone of peace.

This prayer comes from Prayers for Peace.

December 30, 2006 - Posted by | America, Children, Prayer, Religion, War, World Peace

2 Comments »

  1. I declare peace in this; thy emerald dream.
    I declare peace in this; thy emerald dream.
    I declare peace in this; thy emerald dream.
    I declare peace in this; thy emerald dream.

    Men, women, children, all and every color
    Rise up to meet me in this nomadic vapor.
    Rise up! Greet me with thy soul’s civility,
    I can ask no more and no less of thee.

    Affirm the worlds waiting stillness with me.
    Bring thy grace, let go thy mortal weaponry.
    Rise up in the streets of the towns and cities,
    Rise up! Tilt thy angry faces toward the sun!

    Emerald dream, I march with thee this day.
    I stride with thee… sharing thy morning walk,
    I sit with thee… and drink at thy table,
    I speak with thee… though I see thee not.

    O! Ghost in the shade of want come forth,
    Walk with me, walk with me in my trance!
    I declare peace in this; thy emerald dream,
    Open eyed to it grasping thy bleeding chance!

    O! We tongueless ones in our painful disgrace
    Let us not use deceit to twist the patient hands failing,
    Instead let us smile upon the poor lives of all men
    and carry this emerald sheen with a proud face!

    Comment by thepoetryman | December 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. Perfect TPM – as always!

    Comment by PA_Lady | December 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

