The Lady Speaks

Going to DC!

I’m going to DC!! Yay me!

About a week or so ago, I got an email invitation from Chris Carney (well, not from him, but y’know…) to go watch him sworn in on Thursday, January 4th and go to the reception afterward, with free bus service to and from DC.

What the heck, I thought, even though I’m sure every other soul on the Carney email list got one. I’ve never been to DC, and when am I likely to have another opportunity to see a Congressperson sworn in?

So, now that all the pesky details are taken care of (like who’s watching the munchkins, who’ll make sure the daughter gets to school, etc.) I’m heading to DC, with my favorite travelling companion*: The Momma!

Woo-hoo! Go us!!

We’re meeting the bus in Sunbury and will be leaving from there about 7am. Thanks to Mom (and her lovely credit card) we’ve also got a motel room near Sunbury for Wednesday night, so we won’t have to get up at 3am and drive through the dark PA wilderness to make the bus. I’ve got the map all printed out (thank you, Mapquest) and I’ll be packing snackies for the trip. (Can’t smoke, so must munch!)

Mom and I are especially thrilled to note that the motel room comes with a coffeemaker. Great deal! Run plain water through it and use single-serving bags to make your hot beverage of choice. No more of that having to get showered and dressed and go out searching for a McDonald’s/Burger King/mini-mart in order to buy hot tea.

I’m taking my (crappy, but somewhat functional) camera, so I’ll post pics when I get back.

* *

*When going on a long trip, always take a person who knows how to: read/occupy themselves when you want to read, talk when you want to talk, and sleeps without snoring or drooling on your shoulder.

December 30, 2006 - Posted by | Carney, DC, Democrats, PA 10th District, Pennsylvania, Politics

3 Comments »

  1. The room has two beds, so I don’t know about snoring, but we are safe from drool.
    They serve breakfast from 6 -10 a.m. also, and
    are just a couple miles from Sunbury, so we can eat, and
    then stash a muffin for later.

    This is gonna be great!!!

    Comment by Mom | December 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. Oh, I forgot, thanks to BethAnne for rearranging her work
    schedule, so you are free of the littlest munchkin those days.
    See you soon.

    Comment by Mom | December 30, 2006 | Reply

  3. Well, I was thinking of the bus part. I’ve been on trips where you get stuck with some stranger using your shoulder as a drip-pan. Ewww!

    Breakfast! Yay! *doing the Snoopy dance*

    Oh, right! Big – HUGE – thank you to The Beffie!

    Comment by PA_Lady | December 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

