The Lady Speaks

Vote! Vote! Vote!

Pennsylvanians head to the polls tomorrow, so I will not be posting – I'm the minority inspector of elections for my voting district (I even have a very pretty letter on real stationery that says so!) so I'll be heading out at 5:45am.

I'll spend the day working the polls, and then – once they close at 8pm – will ride with the Judge of Elections to deliver our district's votes to the county Election Bureau. I should be home sometime around 10pm…maybe.

As much as I'm looking forward to this, I'm also dreading it. Not only will this be a LONG day – about 16 hours altogether – assuming nothing goes wrong – it's going to be a smoke-free one for me. *shudder* Poll workers must remain in calling (voice, not phone) distance of the polling site, and while we will get restroom breaks, smoking privileges do not come with the job! *sigh*

On the good side, I get paid for this! I think it's only $60, but still – how cool!! But…since I'm not a Republican, I can't abuse my position and accept cash bribes and expensive gifts. Darn!

May 15, 2006 - Posted by | Democrats, Government, Pennsylvania, Voting

4 Comments »

  1. It’s great that you work the polls. Most people are not interested in the work that makes our elections whappen. In fact most people aren’t even interested in voting. Sad.

    Comment by Gort | May 16, 2006 | Reply

  2. This was the first time for me. I got the job because I was one of several people who were written in, and my chip was picked in the lottery.

    But, having done it,and seen all the work involved, I’ll definitely continue doing the job. (Which is good news for the other poll workers, since I was elected to a 4-year term!) Of course, the workload is much less these days, since the officials at each polling place no longer have to count each vote by hand.

    I plan on posting about the whole experience once I’m a bit more awake.

    Comment by PA_Lady | May 17, 2006 | Reply

  3. I considered running for Committeeman but most of the time I disagree with the County Committee.

    Comment by Gort | May 17, 2006 | Reply

  4. It’s kind of funny, but until yesterday I would have catagorically said I had no interest in holding any kind of elected position, ever. Although I’ve been politically active for a number of years, I’m finding a new interest in how government works at all levels. I guess it’s just another way of making government work for the people – changing it from the inside.

    Maybe at some point I’ll find myself interested in running for Borough Council or County Commissioner.

    Comment by PA_Lady | May 17, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

