The Lady Speaks

Call Verizon!

Veritas78 has started with a bang!

From his first post at DailyKos:

I called their Ethics Line, which is staffed by a 3rd-party ethics investigation firm called Global Compliance. I was impressed by how they handled my complaint.

"Rudi" was respectful, took all my information, and took down my questions word-for-word (along the lines of: Did Verizon sell my private information to NSA as reported in USA Today? Did they do so without a warrant? Why did they not notify me that they had done so? Did they violate the law in doing so?) and took the whole matter very seriously. She asked for the name of the USA Today reporter, the date of the article, and was professional about the whole thing. I also got a sense that she gathered the gravity of my complaint.

So if you call, this is what you can expect. At least Verizon bothered to hire this outside firm to take ethical complaints. I suggest we make use of the service. Have your facts on hand and be concise. The people answering the phone aren't Verizon–but every complaint gets logged with a ID number and Verizon will have to decide how to deal with each one.

Be sure to check out the comments! The commenters have added more contact numbers for Verizon customers that they've either found, or been referred to.

Also, someone added the email address of Verizon CEO, Ivan G. Seidenberg: ivan.g.seidenberg@verizon.com  If you do write, keep concise and to the point, and – above all – polite!

Here's the email I sent him:

Mr. Seidenberg,

I am writing in response to yesterday's article in the USA Today by Leslie Cauley.

1. Did Verizon hand over the call records of its customers voluntarily, without a warrant or authorization from the Justice Department, OR were these records sold to the NSA? What law(s) were violated by doing do?

2. Why were Verizon customers not notified that their call records were being given and/or sold to the National Security Agency?

3. Were Verizon's shareholders notified of the NSA request before the records were handed over?

I am extremely angry that a company I do business with would give or sell my call records to a government agency, with no protection for the customer, no regard to the law (most especially the 4th Amendment of the Constitution).

[snip]

Your time and attention to this matter is greatly appreciated.

ThinkProgress has this up:

This morning, USA Today reported that three telecommunications companies – AT&T, Verizon and BellSouth – provided “phone call records of tens of millions of Americans” to the National Security Agency. Such conduct appears to be illegal and could make the telco firms liable for tens of billions of dollars. Here's why:

1. It violates the Stored Communications Act  […]

2. The penalty for violating the Stored Communications Act is $1000 per individual violation. […]

 

3. The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act doesn’t get the telcos off the hook. […]

 

May 12, 2006 - Posted by | Bush, Constitution, Crime, Domestic Spying, Intelligence, NSA, White House

1 Comment »

  1. HI,

    I am calling regarding my latest bill that I got from Verizon. I get my home bill and my cell phone bill together. My complaint is about the veriozon wireless and this month I got billed for just wireless about $194 and my plan is about $130. So I got overbill for $64. When I called them they say that I used data plan and when I activate my new phone they just start charging me 44.99 every month. They didn’t explain me that I will get this charge when I activated this phone. Don’t you think this is their responsibility to explain that I will be charged this much money. We are not rich people like they are, we live pay check to pay check so any extra money speding will effect us. Besides that they already charged me that extra money on my next billing cycle. Can you believe this? This is really getting out of the hand. I told them that I never use internet on phone, I have internet available at my work and at home why do I need to use from the phone? As far as I believe they have lack of communication in their department. They should not charge someone when they have not explain what are the charges are for when the phone is activated. Don’t you think this is their responsiblity to explain all the details when the phone is activated.

    Comment by Yogesh Patel | March 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

