The Lady Speaks

Jenn’s Sunday Sermon

I'm posting this early, as I have plans that will take up most of the day tomorrow.

*

Today's Sunday Sermon was inspired by a post at Street Prophets.

From Pastor Dan:

This week, I'm preaching on the first letter of John, which tells us in part:

We know love by this, that he laid down his life for us–and we ought to lay down our lives for one another. How does God's love abide in anyone who has the world's goods and sees a brother or sister in need and yet refuses help?

Little children, let us love, not in word or speech, but in truth and action.

Seems like this is calling us to do something, to live our faith, rather than just talk or think about it. So I thought I'd make some real-life suggestions to the congregation. What can they do in their Monday-to-Saturday lives to lay down their lives for one another? To help? To love in word or speech, but in truth or action?


I'm not a 'Christian' but, as I've said before, I try to live by certain principles found in the Bible and elsewhere. The most important of which is to treat all people with love, kindness, and understanding.

So, my first thought after reading this was: What can I do, every day, to act with love towards everyone I meet?

What popped into my head was: Girl, control your road rage! *laugh*

People who know me know I am pretty laid-back in every area, except one…driving. I am your classic Type-A driver, always in a hurry and – yes, I admit it – with a habit of cursing and making 'gestures' at drivers who are too slow, too fast, or…um, stupid.

I earned the nickname "Mario" for my style of slamming gears and going as fast as the cops allow. If I tell you I loved Dale Earnhardt's style of racing, does that tell you anything? Or that Sammy Hagar's "I Can't Drive 55" was my theme song in high school? *big grin*

I'm resolving, here and now – and you're all witnesses – to control my temper and my impatience on the road. I swear, I will treat my car as the wreck it is, and not the NASCAR legend I want it to be.

I'm going to put a smiley face on the steering wheel to remind me of this vow, and update you on my progress.

In addition, I'm going to be looking for other ways to help others in my community.

*

Now, from the funny to the serious part of my 'sermon'. (I promise, it's short.) Pastor Dan's quote above is from 1 John. Read verses 17 and 18 again.

How does God's love abide in anyone who has the world's goods and sees a brother or sister in need and yet refuses help?

Little children, let us love, not in word or speech, but in truth and action.

Now, ask yourself, how do the actions of George W. Bush, James Dobson, Pat Robertson, Jerry Falwell, and other vocal members of the religious right compare to the words of the Apostle John?

How could God's love abide in anyone who is responsible for the death and destruction in Iraq?

How could God's love abide in anyone who is responsible for the death and destruction in New Orleans?

How could God's love abide in anyone who spouts Republican rhetoric and Christian doctrine, yet acts in direct opposition to every teaching of the man they call Savior?

It can't.

May 6, 2006 - Posted by | Bush, Christianity, Government, Politics, Protest, Religion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

