The Lady Speaks

More ‘Bringing Freedom To Iraq’

a/k/a ‘Operation Iraqi F**k-up’ – again, as seen from the Iraqi point of view.

Found a new blog last night – Baghdad Burning by a woman blogger in Iraq. Here’s some excerpts from Saturday’s post:

Spring should be about renewal and rebirth. For Iraqis, spring has been about reliving painful memories and preparing for future disasters. In many ways, this year is like 2003 prior to the war when we were stocking up on fuel, water, food and first aid supplies and medications. We’re doing it again this year but now we don’t discuss what we’re stocking up for. Bombs and B-52’s are so much easier to face than other possibilities.

I don’t think anyone imagined three years ago that things could be quite this bad today. The last few weeks have been ridden with tension. I’m so tired of it all- we’re all tired.

Three years and the electricity is worse than ever. The security situation has gone from bad to worse. The country feels like it’s on the brink of chaos once more- but a pre-planned, pre-fabricated chaos being led by religious militias and zealots.

[snip]

Three years after the war, and we’ve managed to move backwards in a visible way, and in a not so visible way.

In the last weeks alone, thousands have died in senseless violence and the American and Iraqi army bomb Samarra as I write this. The sad thing isn’t the air raid, which is one of hundreds of air raids we’ve seen in three years- it’s the resignation in the people. They sit in their homes in Samarra because there’s no where to go. Before, we’d get refugees in Baghdad and surrounding areas… Now, Baghdadis themselves are looking for ways out of the city… out of the country. The typical Iraqi dream has become to find some safe haven abroad.

Three years later and the nightmares of bombings and of shock and awe have evolved into another sort of nightmare. The difference between now and then was that three years ago, we were still worrying about material things- possessions, houses, cars, electricity, water, fuel… It’s difficult to define what worries us most now. Even the most cynical war critics couldn’t imagine the country being this bad three years after the war… Allah yistur min il rab3a (God protect us from the fourth year).

And this blog, from a 16-year-old girl in Mosul:

March 11:

[sic]  Before 3 days our first day in hell started when my mother answered the phone and talked with my aunt. My aunt told my mother that my father’s uncle was killed that day by bullets from an American soldier. 

[snip]

My aunt’s husband told the American soldiers that uncle “s” is an old man in the age of 78 and it was clear that he is not a terror. The soldiers told him that they are sorry.  

[snip]

We reach the school at about 7:45. The windows were broken, the girls were crying and the teachers were in panic. Some girls running, other’s talking and the rest are crying. Everything looks strange. My friend Maas was the first one I talked to. She told me that a mortar fell in our school garden.

[snip]

Add yesterday to these two days. It was also a very bad day. Began with news that my friend’s father died on cancer. And ended with a bombing car in our neighbor.
The explosion was very big that I felt that I died and then returned to life.
And because I am a life. I wite this post.

March 18:

I am ok, still want to get out from this nightmare.
I don’t know what to talk about. I am tired from talking and talking and then ( nothing) . Nothing change in my life.

Reading hnk‘s blog hurts; it causes me – as a human being and as a mother – a physical ache.

She is a child, only a couple months older than my middle child. While he is worrying about making the football team and whether or not ‘Girl X’ likes him, learning to drive and waiting impatiently for the day he can take his driving test, hnk is dealing daily with horrors that the average American cannot even begin to comprehend.

I wonder, how would I react if my country, my home were suddenly invaded and everything I knew before – no matter how bad – was suddenly gone, replaced by daily fear and daily worry about survival. Not survival, American-style – which is mostly ‘Can I pay the bill on the SUV?’ – but survival, Iraqi-style – ‘Will I live to see another sunrise?

Next time someone tells you how well things are going in Iraq, ask them how many mortars landed in their child’s schoolyard, how many relatives were killed by foreign soldiers, how many bombs went off in their neighborhood.

 

March 20, 2006 - Posted by | Civil War, Iraq, War

1 Comment »

  1. We Americans are perversely untouched by the War which we began.
    We put yellow ribbons on our cars, and say “Support the Troops”, but for most of us day to day, nothing changes. We go to our jobs, we go to school, eat, party, read, watch T.V., make love, argue,etc.
    We do not feel the pain. Which is why it goes on and on.
    It does take all of us to protect the children, not just our children, but the children of this planet.
    Please bombard your representatives with copies of this Iraqi childs blog.
    Make them aware of the true cost of this war can not be measured in dollars.
    We must end this madness.

    Comment by PAMOM | March 20, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

