The Lady Speaks

For All The Children

I guess I just didn’t think about it. I mean, we all know – in that abstract, back of the head way – that soldiers killed in Iraq and Afghanistan weren’t orphans without families. You know they had families of their own. Mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters…

But you don’t think about the children. Children who’ve lost a parent to the ‘vision’ of a man who believes himself to be doing the work of God.

(Newsflash, George: Your God is supposed to smite your enemies. ‘Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine; I will repay, saith the Lord.’ –Romans 12:19 [KJV])

Until something literally smacks you in the face and says, ‘LOOK!’ you just don’t think about the children now facing a life without their father or their mother.

And that’s what happened to me today.

I was taking my daily tour through the various news sites and checking the blogs to see what everyone’s talking about. I’m running a bit behind due to some miniature crises – nothing truly major, just a bloody nose, a washing machine-hose spill, a daughter with ear and sinus infections and a case of the whinies. Trying to decide if it’s even worth it to even start writing posts for this blog, because I know I’ll be interrupted 50 times in the two hours it’ll take. (I’m slow and I edit a lot…)

Then I clicked on Newsweek’s photo gallery. [Sorry, this will only take you to the homepage. It won’t let me link. You’ll have to scroll down the right-hand side.]

This photo gallery is one of children whose parent made the ultimate sacrifice.

A boy holding his father’s Purple Heart. A girl at a memorial for her father outside her home. A boy and his mother in a room they’ve turned into a memorial for his father. A six-year-old who ‘made her mother ‘pinkie-swear’ that she wouldn’t die.’

It all became clear once again. Why we need to bring our troops home. Why we need to make peace – some kind of peace – in Iraq, even if it’s just allowing them to split the country into three autonomous regions.

For our children and their children. For my children and your children. For all the children.

As of last week, Newsweek has calculated that 1,043 American children have lost a parent in Iraq.

For those who would say we’re there to free Iraq and to create a peaceful nation for the Iraqi children, I say: War cannot make peace, and freedom cannot be imposed by outsiders.

March 18, 2006 - Posted by | Iraq

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

